Dataguess
Search…
Workstation
Dataguess workstation is a device that Dataguess software runs on.

A workstation is a physical or a virtual device that Dataguess runs on. Wherever Dataguess is installed and is running, can be considered as a workstation. A workstation will store any data about Dataguess that is running on that device. By default, you have your local workstation (localhost), and you can create your user, dataflows, workgroups in localhost workstation. You can also copy other workgroups and dataflows from remote workstations to your localhost.

You need at least one device for Dataguess to be installed and run, therefore you need a workstation to use Dataguess. Localhost (127.0.0.1 or 0.0.0.0) will be the default workstation, and can't be deleted. Dataguess workstations can communicate with each other once they are added as remote.

A remote workstation is another device that Dataguess runs on, and if you have the information about IP Address, Web Port, username and password for that device, you can add it as a remote workstation.
Just like your local workstation, remote workstation contains data about Dataguess that runs on that device, and can have workgroups & dataflows. By adding the remote workstation to your local workstation you gain access to create/read/update/delete/copy/move (basically what you can do with your local workstation) data. You can choose to update the dataflows/workgroups directly from the remote workstation, or you can get a copy of those to your local.
You can repeat the same process with remote to remote workstation as well. You can add a remote workstation to a remote workstation. This will create a nested workstation structure:
Nested workstation under remote workstation
In order to get the data from a nested workstation, you have to make sure that Nested Workstation is added as remote to that Remote Workstation (In this case, 192.168.0.5 should be added as remote to 192.168.1.54). If that is the case, you can manipulate the data inside the nested workstation, through the remote workstation.

Click on Add Workstation button on the top left and you will encounter a form:
Add Workstation form
You have to know the remote workstation's IP Address, WEB port, username and password. Once all fields are filled with correct information, you can get the workgroups and dataflows registered to the workstation by clicking the Fetch workgroups & dataflows button:
Fetching the data from the workstation
By checking/unchecking the checkbox for each workgroup or dataflow, you can choose which should be visible to you in your home screen. (e.g. Dataflow is not chosen in this example, others are):
Adding the remote workstation to our local machine
You can now edit/delete/create workgroups and dataflows to/from the remote workstation, or you can copy/move data to your local machine.

You can copy and move a dataflow or a workgroup (with it's content) from a remote to local, from remote to remote or from local to local (in-place). To achieve this, first click on the copy/move buttons respective to the workgroup/dataflow you are relocating:
Copy button for workgroups and dataflow
Once you click on the copy/move button, you will choose where to copy. To achieve this, you will see Copy/Move here buttons for each available workgroup/workstation:
Copy/Move here buttons
You can always press ESC or the close button on top right to abort copy/move. Once you choose a location (an available workgroup or an available workstation), you will be prompted:
Copy/Move prompt
If you are happy with the process, click Yes, continue and you successfully did the relocation:
After copying Dataflow - copy from remote to local
As one can see, dataflows or workgroups you copy are automatically renamed to {existing name} - copy to avoid any confusions.

Once you have added a remote workstation, you now have access to workgroups and dataflows registered under that workstation. You can create/edit/delete dataflows directly under the remote workstation's name, or you can copy those to your localhost.
If you choose to manage the dataflow directly from the remote workstation, you will be changing the data from the remote workstation and your local workstation will remain untouched. Any other workstation that manages the same remote, will now see the updated the data. Therefore, you are changing the data within the source.
If you choose to copy the dataflow from remote to your local workstation, you are getting a copy of that dataflow at that instance. When the dataflow of the remote is updated, copied dataflow will not be updated automatically (You have to copy it again). Likewise,he changes you make to the copied dataflow will not have any affect on the dataflow that is under the remote workstation.
Therefore, copying the dataflow is the way to go if you don't want to change remote's data. If you want to change remote's data, you can do it directly under the remote workstation.

Removing a remote workstation, removes the workstation from that workstation's list. It is not possible to delete the workstation completely as long as Dataguess runs on that device. Removing the workstation means that that workstation will no longer be visible (and can be added again)
Copy link
On this page
What is a Workstation?
Why do I need a Workstation?
What is a remote Workstation?
How do I add a remote Workstation?
How do I copy or move workgroups/dataflows from a remote Workstation?
What is the difference between managing the dataflow from a remote Workstation and copying the dataflow to my local workstation?
Can I delete a Workstation?